clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SnakePit Hall of Fame 2024 ballot

One inductee over three years - will this time add to the tally?


Previous SnakePit Hall of Fame Inductees

The rules

We began with the same ballot as the Hall of Fame in 2015, and have proceeded from there on. The same 75% super-majority is required for election, and players are removed from the future ballot on election here, regardless of whether or not they made it into the “real” Hall of Fame. So far, the SnakePit electorate has been in fairly close agreement with the BBWAA, with timing the main variation. I think the three current differences are Mike Mussina, was not elected here (and had his 10th and final shot last time around), but went into Cooperstown in 2019, and Scott Rolen was inducted last year too. Curt Schilling was inducted by us as part of the class of 2017, but continues to sit on the outside as far as the BBWAA are concerned.

Off the SnakePit ballot from last year go Mussina and Jeff Kent under the 10-year rule. Failing to get 5% and so also being removed are Miguel Tejada, Jacoby Ellsbury, R.A. Dickey, Andre Ethier, Michael Young John Lackey, Jered Weaver, Matt Cain, Jhonny Peralta, Jayson Werth, J.J. Hardy, Mike Napoli, Bronson Arroyo and Huston Street. This year’s list has been adjusted for the non-electees mentioned above, along with adding the following new arrivals.

  • José Bautista
  • Adrián Beltré
  • Bartolo Colon
  • Adrián González
  • Matt Holliday
  • Victor Martinez
  • Joe Mauer
  • Brandon Phillips
  • José Reyes
  • James Shields
  • Chase Utley
  • David Wright

With Ortiz now in, Andruw Jones (73%), Todd Helton (67%) and Rolen (60%) are the returning names mentioned on more than half the ballots in 2023. We’ll see if any of these end up getting closer to induction into SnakePit Towers! Gary Sheffield will be drinking at the last chance saloon this time.

To prevent potential ballot-box stuffing, voting is open only to registered AZ SnakePit users - forms without a valid username filled in will be rejected [however, since you can join by clicking on a link and filling in a form, it’s not exactly an onerous requirement!]. I reserve the right to publish your ballot, with or without your name attached, depending on how amusing it is. However, feel free to announce your ballot and explain it in the comments. You can select as many candidates as you want: there’s no “10 maximum” as on the real thing. Voting is open through Jan 22: the BBWAA will announce their results the following day, and we’ll follow suit shortly thereafter. I will filter out multiple votes too, so you know!

The form is below, and the eligible names are randomized for each submission: here’s a link if you’re on mobile or are otherwise finding the form griefsome.