clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Diamondbacks announce wild-card roster

Pavin Smith returns, Kyle Nelson is out

Tampa Bay Rays v Arizona Diamondbacks Photo by Norm Hall/Getty Images

The Diamondbacks have announced the 26 players who will take on the Brewers in the National League Wild-Card series, beginning later today in Milwaukee. Torey Lovullo has gone with 14 position players and 12 pitches. Since they will only need three starters, that leaves Arizona with a nine-man bullpen, so I would expect Torey to have a quick hook, especially in Game 1 when Brandon Pfaadt will be the starter. Dropped from the final regular season roster are several players, including pitchers Kyle Nelson and Justin Martinez, infielder Jace Peterson, and catcher Seby Zavala. Pavin Smith returns, and Jose Herrera makes a return to the roster, Savala not being post-season eligible due to his later arrival.

The decision to go with Smith over Peterson is to give an additional left-handed hitting option off the bench. Peterson has been flat-out terrible since coming over from the A’s. His OPS+ of just 48 ranks 12th-worst among all D-backs with 100+ PA for the team. Here’s the full roster:

2023 D-backs wild-card roster

# Last Firt Pos
# Last Firt Pos
11 Herrera Jose C
14 Moreno Gabriel C
2 Perdomo Geraldo INF
3 Longoria Evan INF
4 Marte Ketel INF
10 Lawlar Jordan INF
15 Rivera Emmanuel INF
53 Walker Christian INF
26 Smith Pavin INF/OF
5 Thomas Alek OF
7 Carroll Corbin OF
12 Gurriel Jr. Lourdes OF
28 Pham Tommy OF
31 McCarthy Jake OF
19 Nelson Ryne RHP
23 Gallen Zac RHP
29 Kelly Merrill RHP
32 Pfaadt Brandon RHP
37 Ginkel Kevin RHP
38 Sewald Paul RHP
40 Jarvis Bryce RHP
50 Castro Miguel RHP
65 Frías Luis RHP
81 Thompson Ryan RHP
35 Mantiply Joe LHP
57 Saalfrank Andrew LHP