clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

David Peralta and Kole Calhoun named Gold Glove finalists

But no return glove love for Nick Ahmed or Christian Walker

MLB: Washington Nationals at Arizona Diamondbacks Rick Scuteri-USA TODAY Sports

Rawlings Sporting Goods announced today the finalists for the 2020 Gold Glove Awards, and National Leagues. The winners will be unveiled during a live, one-hour “Baseball Tonight” broadcast on ESPN Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2020, at 7 p.m. ET. Interestingly the way its determined will be different this year. The usual method relied on a vote from managers and coaches, with a small sabermetric component. But with teams typically facing only a small subset of other teams, that would mean a lot of indirect observation at best. So instead, here’s the rules for this year’s awards:

Award qualifications have been amended to rely solely on the SDI which draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. SDI utilizes MLBAM’s Statcast, Sports Information Solutions data, and STATS, LLC data as well as traditional statistics with advanced analysis. For 2020 Award consideration, pitchers must have pitched at least 50 innings, catchers must have played in at least 29 games and infielders/outfielders must have completed at least 265 defensive innings. Each player qualifies at the position he has played at most (SDI is only for play at qualified position).

Here are the National League finalists:

  • P
    Max Fried - Atlanta Braves
    Alec Mills - Chicago Cubs
    Kyle Hendricks - Chicago Cubs
  • C
    Jacob Stallings - Pittsburgh Pirates
    Willson Contreras - Chicago Cubs
    Tucker Barnhart -Cincinnati Reds
  • 1B
    Brandon Belt - San Francisco Giants
    Paul Goldschmidt - St. Louis Cardinals
    Anthony Rizzo - Chicago Cubs
  • 2B
    Nico Hoerner - Chicago Cubs
    Kolten Wong - St. Louis Cardinals
    Adam Frazier - Pittsburgh Pirates
  • 3B
    Nolan Arenado - Colorado Rockies
    Brian Anderson - Miami Marlins
    Manny Machado - San Diego Padres
  • SS
    Miguel Rojas - Miami Marlins
    Dansby Swanson - Atlanta Braves
    Javier Baez - Chicago Cubs
  • LF
    Shogo Akiyama - Cincinnati Reds
    David Peralta - Arizona Diamondbacks
    Tyler O’Neill - St. Louis Cardinals
  • CF
    Ronald Acuna Jr. - Atlanta Braves
    Cody Bellinger - Los Angeles Dodgers
    Trent Grisham - San Diego Padres
  • RF
    Charlie Blackmon - Colorado Rockies
    Jason Heyward - Chicago Cubs
    Mookie Betts - Los Angeles Dodgers
    Kole Calhoun - Arizona Diamondbacks

Both Peralta and Calhoun have one before. The Freight Train is, in fact, the reigning Gold Glove left fielder in the National League, while Kole won one back in 2015 as a member of the Angels. There are a couple of former Diamondbacks mentioned as well. Unsurprisingly, Goldschmidt gets a nomination at 1B, though Christian Walker was not able to repeat making the final list there, which he did in 2019. And reigning, two-time champion at shortstop, Nick Ahmed, couldn’t even make the shortlist. Rubbing salt into that particular would, is the presence of former Arizona 1st-round pick Dansby Swanson there, now as an Atlanta Brave. #ThankYouDaveStewart...

Sure someone will take a look at those results in more detail and figure out whether the nominations - and omissions - are justified or not.