clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Diamondbacks name Jazz Chisholm + Taylor Widener their Minor League Player and Pitcher of the Year

@dbacks, via Twitter

Chisholm, 20, hit .272 (124-for-456)/.329 OBP/.513 SLG with 23 doubles, 6 triples, 25 home runs, 70 RBI, 39 walks, 17 stolen bases and 79 runs scored in 112 games between Single-A Kane County and Single-A Advanced Visalia. A Midwest League midseason All-Star, Chisholm led all D-backs farmhands in home runs, and ranked among the leaders in runs (3rd), triples (T-5th), RBI (7th), slugging pct. (8th) and walks (T-9th).

A native of Nassau, Bahamas, the left-handed hitting infielder joins Jack Cust (20) in 1999 and Justin Upton (20) in 2007 as the youngest players in organization history to receive Player of the Year honors. Chisholm is also the first player to win the award from the Single-A ranks since Paul Goldschmidt did so in 2010. Chisholm is rated by as the No. 2 prospect in the D-backs’ organization, and is ranked third by Baseball America, as well as possessing the Best Infield Arm.

Widener, 23, was named Baseball America’s Double-A Pitcher of the Year, going 5-8 with a 2.75 ERA (42 ER in 137.1 IP), .197 opponent average, 176 strikeouts and 43 walks in 26 games (25 starts) for the Southern League Champion Jackson Generals. He led the SL in strikeouts and WHIP (1.03) and ranked among the leaders in ERA (2nd), starts (6th) and innings pitched (6th), and led all D-backs Minor League pitchers in ERA and strikeouts.

Widener, who was a SL midseason All-Star in 2018, was acquired from the New York Yankees on February 20 in the trade that sent Brandon Drury to the Yankees and sent Steven Souza Jr. to the D-backs. He is the third pitcher in team history to earn Minor League Pitcher of the Year honors in his first season with the organization, joining Vladimir Nuñez in 1996 and Mike Gosling in 2002. He is rated by as the No. 3 prospect in the D-backs’ organization, and No. 4 by Baseball America.

Here is a full list of recipients, since the awards were first handed out in 1996.

D-backs MiLB Players and Pitchers of the Year

Year Player Club Pitcher Club
Year Player Club Pitcher Club
1996 Kevin Sweeney Lethbridge Vladimir Nunez Lethbridge
1997 Travis Lee High Desert Brad Penny South Bend
Mike Stoner High Desert
1998 Jason Conti Tulsa Brad Penny High Desert
1999 Jack Cust High Desert Andrew Good South Bend
2000 Alex Cabrera El Paso/Tucson Bret Prinz South Bend/El Paso
2001 Lyle Overbay El Paso Beltran Perez South Bend
2002 Scott Hairston South Bend/Lancaster Mike Gosling El Paso
2003 Chad Tracy Tucson Brian Bruney El Paso/Tucson
2004 Carlos Quentin Lancaster/El Paso Enrique Gonzalez Lancaster
2005 Andy Green Tucson Dustin Nippert Tennessee
2006 Alberto Callaspo Tucson Micah Owings Tennessee/Tucson
2007 Justin Upton Visalia/Mobile Esmerling Vasquez Mobile
2008 Josh Whitesell Tucson Cesar Valdez Visalia/Mobile
2009 Ryan Wheeler Yakima/South Bend Billy Buckner Reno
2010 Paul Goldschmidt Visalia Wade Miley Mobile
2011 Paul Goldschmidt Mobile Tyler Skaggs Visalia/Mobile
2012 Adam Eaton Mobile/Reno Trevor Bauer Mobile/Reno
2013 Chris Owings Reno Archie Bradley Visalia/Mobile
2014 Jake Lamb Mobile/Reno Aaron Blair South Bend/Visalia/Mobile
2015 Sócrates Brito Mobile Aaron Blair Mobile/Reno
2016 Mitch Haniger Mobile/Reno Anthony Banda Mobile/Reno
2017 Kevin Cron Jackson Jon Duplantier Kane County/Visalia
2018 Jazz Chisholm Kane County/Visalia Taylor Widener Jackson