clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Diamondbacks announce 2018 Opening Day roster

Here are the 25 men who will take us into the season

San Francisco Giants v Arizona Diamondbacks Photo by Ralph Freso/Getty Images
  • Right-handed Pitchers (7) – Brad Boxberger, Archie Bradley, Zack Godley, Zack Greinke, Yoshihisa Hirano, Fernando Salas and Taijuan Walker;
  • Left-handed Pitchers (5) – Andrew Chafin, Patrick Corbin, Jorge De La Rosa, T.J. McFarland and Robbie Ray;
  • Catchers (3) – Alex Avila, Jeff Mathis and John Ryan Murphy;
  • Infielders (6) – Nick Ahmed, Daniel Descalso, Paul Goldschmidt, Jake Lamb, Deven Marrero and Ketel Marte;
  • Outfielders (4) – Jarrod Dyson, Chris Owings, David Peralta and A.J. Pollock;
  • Disabled list (3) – Randall Delgado, Shelby Miller and Steven Souza Jr.

If you prefer it another way, the bullpen will consist - in alphabetical order - of Brad Boxberger, Archie Bradley, Andrew Chafin, Jorge De La Rosa, Yoshihisa Hirano, T.J. McFarland and Fernando Salas. That’s three left-handers, in Chafin, De La Rosa and McFarland. I’d have to check, but I don’t immediately recall us having as many on any Opening Day in recent history.

The only other moderate surprise is Marrero making the roster, which is why Owings is listed as an outfielder. The plan appears to be to use Owings as a fourth outfielder, with Marrero assuming a utility role on the infield, alongside Descalso. As expected, the team is going with three catchers: Murphy is preferred over Herrmann, the latter being released by Arizona earlier this week.