clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The AZ SnakePit Awards

Since 2006, we’ve been handing out our annual awards in a variety of categories. Here are all the winners so far.

World Series GM7 X

In recent years, the category name will link to the poll thread, where you can see all the nominees, and the winner’s name to the article announcing and honoring them

2022 Awards

2021 Awards

2020 Awards

2019 Awards

2018 Awards

2017 Awards

2016 Awards

2015 Awards

2014 Awards

2013 Awards

2012 Awards

2011 Awards

2010 Awards

2009 Awards

  • Play of the year: May 4. Triple-play vs. LAD
    Honorable Mentions: July 28, Mark Reynolds, 481 ft. home-run vs. PHI
    September 26: Chad Tracy’s pinch-hit grand-slam vs. SDP
  • Performance of the year: June 7. B-bullpen no-hits the Padres for nine innings, vs SDP
    Honorable Mentions: August 4. Petit takes no-hitter into eighth, vs PIT
    July 10: Haren’s complete-game shutout, vs FLA
  • Game of the Year: June 7, the game without end, vs SDP
    Honorable mentions: August 15, the late, late show, vs. LAD
    May 23, biggest comeback of the year, vs. OAK
  • Unsung Hero: Ryan Roberts
    Honorable Mention: Juan Gutierrez
  • Rookie of the Year: Gerardo Parra
  • Cy Young Award: Dan Haren
  • Most Valuable Player: 1. Mark Reynolds
    2. Dan Haren
    3. Justin Upton

2008 Awards

  • Play of the year: Alex Romero, game-saving catch, 7/29 vs. SDG
    Honorable Mentions: Mark Reynolds, swan-dive into the pit, 4/14 vs. SFG
    Brandon Webb, K of Pujols, 9/22 vs. STL
  • Performance of the year: Conor Jackson, runs through the cycle, 4/18 vs. SDG
    Honorable Mentions: Doug Davis, return to the mound, 5/23 vs. ATL
    Stephen Drew, cycle and more, 9/1 vs. STL
  • Game of the year: July 3: Matinee miracle vs. MIL
    Honorable Mention: September 28: the last of Randy vs. COL
  • Unsung Hero of the year: Conor Jackson
    Honorable Mention: Chris Snyder
  • Rookie of the year: Max Scherzer
    Honorable Mention: Alex Romero
  • Cy Young Award: Brandon Webb
    Honorable Mention: Randy Johnson
  • Most Valuable Player: 1. Conor Jackson
    2. Brandon Webb
    3. Stephen Drew

2007 Awards

2006 Awards

  • Game of the year: Sep. 9: Webb 1-hits the Cards
    Honorable Mention: May 3: comeback vs. LA
  • Rookie of the year: Stephen Drew
    Honorable Mention: Conor Jackson
  • Most Valuable Player: 1. Brandon Webb
    2. Eric Byrnes
    3. Orlando Hudson