clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2019 SnakePit Hall of Fame Ballot

Who will join the 12 men already enshrined?

Exterior View of Doubleday Field

Previously elected

  • 2015 - Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez
  • 2016 - Ken Griffey Jr.
  • 2017 - Jeff Bagwell, Craig Biggio, Vlad Guerrero, Mike Piazza, Curt Schilling, John Smoltz
  • 2018 - Chipper Jones, Ivan Rodriguez, Edgar Martinez

The rules

We began with the same ballot as the Hall of Fame in 2015, and have proceeded from there on. The same 75% super-majority is required for election, and players are removed from the future ballot on election here, regardless of whether or not they made it into the “real” Hall of Fame. So far, the SnakePit electorate has been in fairly close agreement with the BBWAA. However, last year we elected Edgar Martinez and they didn’t, while Jim Thome and Trevor Hoffman are in Cooperstown, but not the Hall of Fame wing at SnakePit Towers. This year’s BBWAA has been adjusted accordingly for them, along with the other previous variations.

To prevent potential ballot-box stuffing, voting is open only to registered AZ SnakePit users - forms without a valid username filled in will be rejected [however, since you can join by clicking on a link and filling in a form, it’s not exactly an onerous requirement!]. I reserve the right to publish your ballot, with or without your name attached, depending on how amusing it is. However, feel free to announce your ballot and explain it in the comments. You can select as many candidates as you want: there’s no “10 maximum” as on the real thing. Voting is open through Jan 21: the BBWAA will announce their results the following day, and we’ll follow suit shortly thereafter.

The form is below, and the eligible names are randomized for each submission: here’s a link if you’re on mobile and finding the form griefsome.