clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 SnakePit Hall of Fame Ballot

With the HoF results announced next week, it’s time to open the doors to the unofficial Phoenix wing of the Hall of Fame. Will anyone walk through this year?

2010 Baseball Hall of Fame Preview Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

Previously elected

  • 2015 - Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez
  • 2016 - Ken Griffey Jr.
  • 2017 - Jeff Bagwell, Craig Biggio, Vlad Guerrero, Mike Piazza, Curt Schilling, John Smoltz

The rules

We began with the same ballot as the Hall of Fame in 2015, and have proceeded from there on. The same 75% super-majority is required for election, and players are removed from the future ballot on election here, regardless of whether or not they made it into the “real” Hall of Fame. So far, the SnakePit electorate has been in fairly close lock-step with the BBWAA. We have, however, elected both Guerrero and Schilling before they did, while Ivan Rodriguez is in Cooperstown but not SnakePit Towers, having just missed out, due to having received 71.4% of valid votes last time. He carries forward to this year’s ballot, so will that change this year?

To prevent potential ballot-box stuffing, voting is open only to registered AZ SnakePit users - forms without a valid username filled in will be rejected [however, since you can join by clicking on a link and filling in a form, it’s not exactly an onerous requirement!]. I reserve the right to publish your ballot, with or without your name attached, depending on how amusing it is. However, feel free to announce your ballot and explain it in the comments. You can select as many candidates as you want: there’s no “10 maximum” as on the real thing. Voting is open through Jan 31, with the results being announced shortly thereafter.

The form is below, or if you’re on mobile - or are lazy and just want to pick a couple of names! - click here for a pre-filled ballot with all 34 candidates defaulting to “No”. :)