clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Diamondbacks name Kevin Cron and Jon Duplantier organizational player and pitcher of year

Congratulations to both prospects. Here’s to them bringing good things to the major-league table in due course!

SiriusXM All-Star Futures Game Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images

Cron, 24, hit .283 (146-for-515) with 35 doubles, 25 home runs, 91 RBI and 76 runs scored in 138 games with Double-A Jackson. He was named Southern League Most Valuable Player after leading the league in home runs, RBI, extra-base hits (60) and total bases (256). Cron also ranked among SL leaders in hits (2nd), doubles (2nd), slugging pct. (2nd, .497), OPS (2nd, .854) AB/HR ratio (2nd, 20.60), runs scored (T-4th) and walks (9th, 56).

A 2011 graduate of Mountain Pointe High School in Phoenix, Cron was named by Baseball America as a Double-A All-Star and the SL Best Power Prospect. After leading the league in home runs (26) in 2016, Cron became the first SL player since 1975-76 to lead the circuit in back-to-back years.

Duplantier, 23, was named MLB Pipeline’s Pitcher of the Year, going 12-3 with a 1.39 ERA (21 ER in 136.0 IP) and 165 strikeouts in 25 games (24 starts) between Single-A Kane County and Single-A Adv. Visalia. His ERA was second lowest in the last 25 years, behind Justin Verlander’s 1.29 ERA in 2005.

A third-round pick in the 2016 draft out of Rice University, Duplantier also was named Arizona’s Minor League Pitcher of the Month for April, May and July, joining Archie Bradley (2013) as the only 2 pitchers in franchise history to earn the honor 3 times in a season. Duplantier, who earned Midwest League midseason All-Star accolades while with the Cougars, also represented Arizona in the 2017 All-Star Futures Game at Marlins Park.

Here’s a list of all those to have been honored by the team in franchise history.

D-backs farm pitchers and players of the year

Year Pitcher Club Player Club
Year Pitcher Club Player Club
1996 Vladimir Nunez Lethbridge Kevin Sweeney Lethbridge
1997 Brad Penny South Bend Travis Lee High Desert
Mike Stoner High Desert
1998 Brad Penny High Desert Jason Conti Tulsa
1999 Andrew Good South Bend Jack Cust High Desert
2000 Bret Prinz South Bend/El Paso Alex Cabrera El Paso/Tucson
2001 Beltran Perez South Bend Lyle Overbay El Paso
2002 Mike Gosling El Paso Scott Hairston South Bend/Lancaster
2003 Brian Bruney El Paso/Tucson Chad Tracy Tucson
2004 Enrique Gonzalez Lancaster Carlos Quentin Lancaster/El Paso
2005 Dustin Nippert Tennessee Andy Green Tucson
2006 Micah Owings Tennessee/Tucson Alberto Callaspo Tucson
2007 Esmerling Vasquez Justin Upton Visalia/Mobile
2008 Cesar Valdez Visalia/Mobile Josh Whitesell Tucson
2009 Billy Buckner Reno Ryan Wheeler Yakima/South Bend
2010 Wade Miley Mobile Paul Goldschmidt Visalia
2011 Tyler Skaggs Visalia/Mobile Paul Goldschmidt Mobile
2012 Trevor Bauer Mobile/Reno Adam Eaton Mobile/Reno
2013 Archie Bradley Visalia/Mobile Chris Owings Reno
2014 Aaron Blair South Bend/Visalia/Mobile Jake Lamb Mobile/Reno
2015 Aaron Blair Mobile/Reno Sócrates Brito Mobile
2016 Anthony Banda Mobile/Reno Mitch Haniger Mobile/Reno
2017 Jon Duplantier Kane County/Vasalia Kevin Cron Jackson