clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Diamondbacks announce 2017 player development staff.

The Arizona Diamondbacks named the organization’s 2017 Player Development staff, as announced by D-backs Vice President, Player Development Mike Bell.

2014 Arizona Diamondbacks Photo Day
Shelley Duncan, who will move up to manage Visalia from Hillsboro.

In 2017, the D-backs will be in their ninth season with the Triple-A Reno Aces, first with the Double-A Jackson Generals, 11th with the Single-A Advanced Visalia Rawhide, third with Single-A Kane County Cougars, fifth with the Short-Season A Hillsboro Hops, 19th with the Rookie-Advanced Missoula Osprey, seventh with the Rookie Arizona League (AZL) D-backs and 22nd with the Dominican Summer League (DSL) D-backs.

The D-backs return 6 of their coordinators with Luis Urueta being promoted to Field Coordinator after spending last season as the Short-Season Field Coordinator. Rolando Arnedo was promoted to Dominican Summer League Field Coordinator after working as the affiliate’s Hitting and Outfield Coach the last 4 seasons. Gil Velazquez joins Arizona as the Infield Coordinator after coaching the last 2 seasons in the Dodgers’ organization.

All but 1 of the D-backs’ affiliates will feature a new field manager in 2017, with DSL D-backs skipper Juan Francia being the lone returner. Jerry Narron (Reno) and Butch Hobson (Kane County) are newcomers to Arizona’s organization and both have experience managing at the Major League level. J.R. House, who spent the last 2 seasons in Visalia, will take over in Jackson, Shelley Duncan is the new manager in Visalia after spending the last 2 years in Hillsboro, and Mike Benjamin, who led Kane County last season, is the new skipper in Missoula. Shawn Roof (Hillsboro) and Javier Colina (AZL D-backs) were promoted to manager after serving in various coaching capacities last season.

The D-backs will return 17 coaches and have added 2 new coaches, as Shane Loux will be the Pitching Coach and Micah Franklin will be the Hitting Coach in Missoula.

Below are details of the 2017 staff along with their tenure in parentheses: the first number is the years in their current role (consecutive); the second number shows their years with D-backs.

Position Name (Tenure) Position Name (Tenure)
Position Name (Tenure) Position Name (Tenure)
Field Coordinator Luis Urueta (1st/16th) Assistant Medical Coordinator Paul Porter (3rd/5th)
Infield Coordinator Gil Velazquez (1st/1st) Manual Performance Coordinator Max Esposito (1st/1st)
Pitching Coordinator Dan Carlson (4th/16th) Rehab Pitching Coordinator Brad Arnsberg (5th/5th)
Short-Season Pitching Coordinator Wellington Cepeda (2nd/14th) Strength Coordinator Vaughn Robinson (5th/11th)
Hitting Coordinator Chris Cron (4th/4th) Complex Coordinator Bob Bensinger (17th/17th)
Outfield/Baserunning Coordinator Joel Youngblood (9th/11th) Clubhouse Assistant Mike Young (3rd/7th)
Catching Coordinator Bill Plummer (4th/16th) Clubhouse Assistant James Cameron (17th/17th)
Player Development Asst. Orlando Hudson (2nd/2nd) Video Coordinator Jim Currigan (9th/21st)
Coordinator, Latin American Operations Hatuey Mendoza (10th/10th) Phoenix Video Coordinator Alex Cultice (2nd/2nd)
Medical Coordinator Kyle Torgerson (2nd/5th) Hillsboro Consultant Ben Petrick (5th/5th)

Full-Season Manager Pitching Coach Hitting Coach Coach Trainer Strength/Cond.
Full-Season Manager Pitching Coach Hitting Coach Coach Trainer Strength/Cond.
Triple-A Reno Aces Jerry Narron (1st/1st) TBD Greg Gross (5th/5th) Mike Lansing (1st/2nd) Masa Abe (2nd/6th) Steven Candelaria (1st/4th)
Double-A Jackson Generals J.R. House (1st/6th) Doug Drabek (2nd/8th) Jason Camilli (3rd/6th) Joe Mather (1st/3rd) Ryne Eubanks (1st/4th) Jeremy Fradin (1st/4th)
Single-A Advanced Visalia Rawhide Shelley Duncan (1st/3rd) Jeff Bajenaru (2nd/7th) Vince Harrison (2nd/4th) Eddie Oropesa (1st/2nd) Chris Schepel (1st/3rd) Mike Locasto (1st/2nd)
Single-A Kane County Cougars Butch Hobson (1st/1st) Rich Sauveur (2nd/2nd) Jose Amado (1st/2nd) Darrin Garner (1st/2nd) Joe Rosauer (1st/2nd) Matt Tenney (2nd/7th)
Short-Season A Hillsboro Hops Shawn Roof (1st/2nd) Mike Parrott (2nd/21st) Franklin Stubbs (1st/2nd) Jorge Cortes (1st/2nd) Kelly Boyce (1st/2nd) Derek Somerville (1st/1st)
Rookie-Advanced Missoula Osprey Mike Benjamin (1st/3rd) Shane Loux (1st/1st) Micah Franklin (1st/1st) - Chad Moeller (1st/4th) Scott Shipman (1st/1st)
Rookie-Level Arizona League D-backs Javier Colina (1st/4th) Manny Garcia (2nd/11th) Tack Wilson (1st/3rd) - Michael Powell (1st/1st) Mike Schofield (2nd/8th)