clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Diamondbacks Game Preview, #114: Where are our brooms?

The Diamondbacks go for a sweep. It has been a while!

John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports
Braden Shipley
RHP, 1-1, 4.15
Noah Syndergaard
RHP, 9-6, 2.64
Jean Segura - 2B Alejandro De Aza - CF
Michael Bourn - CF Neil Walker - 2B
Paul Goldschmidt - 1B Jay Bruce - RF
Jake Lamb - 3B James Loney - 1B
Chris Owings - SS Kelly Johnson - 3B
Brandon Drury - LF Michael Conforto - LF
Socrates Brito - RF Rene Rivera - C
Tuffy Gosewisch - C Matt Reynolds - SS
Braden Shipley - RHP Noah Syndergaard - RHP

It has been a while. Indeed, the last time the Diamondbacks even had the chance of a sweep, going into the final game, was the two-game series in Toronto, all the way back on June 22. The last actual sweep was the one in Philadelphia, which immediately preceded that series, and was also the last time Arizona won as many as three games in a row (their win streak reaching five). Against this, we have the fiendishly early nature of this morning’s game, especially after last night’s extra-inning affair. I’m have to set my alarm to bring you this. I hope you are appreciative.

For amusement, I though we’d look at the walkless streaks of the current D-backs on the roster. These are ordered by the number of games (with at least one AB or SF), but I’ve also mentioned the number of PAs covered. This won’t precisely match the number of ABs since the last walk, since they could have walked in the first inning, and then had non-walk ABs afterward. These wouldn’t show up, because the game is not walkless, so is not part of the streak. But it’s just a bit of fun, anyway. Here are the numbers for the current (and DL’d) position players on the 25-man roster.

  • 0 - Nick Ahmed, Brandon Drury, Jean Segura
  • 1 - Rickie Weeks Jr (2 AB), Welington Castillo (3), Oscar Hernandez (5)
  • 2 - Tuffy Gosewisch (7), Paul Goldschmidt (8), Michael Bourn (10)
  • 3 - Jake Lamb (14)
  • 4 - Yasmany Tomas (19)
  • 7 - Chris Herrmann (12)
  • 14 - Socrates Brito (43)
  • 18 - David Peralta (59), Chris Owings (67)
  • 20 - Phil Gosselin (39)

Owings has now tied the 2016 mark for most AB during a walkless games streak, with an Ahmed run from June 10 through July 5. Most games, belongs to Gosselin who had 31 in April and May, Quite some way to reach the franchise record, that of Rusty Ryal, who appeared in 71 consecutive games without a walk, piling up 148 at-bats in that time, from September 2009 through August 2010. Let’s see how the numbers change after today’s finale in New York.

Editor's Note: New players win cash in their first league or get their entry fee refunded! Offered in partnership with FanDuel.