clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zack Greinke wins Gold Glove

Probably the most over-shadowed Gold Glove announcements of all time tonight, but there was a winner on the Diamondbacks

MLB: Arizona Diamondbacks at Colorado Rockies Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

Zack Greinke won his third Gold Glove award, but his first as a member of the Arizona Diamondbacks. He won in 2013 and 2014 as a member of the Los Angeles Dodgers. This time round, he beat out Jake Arrieta of the Cubs and Adam Wainwright from the Cardinals.

There was no success, however, for the other two Diamondbacks who had made the final shortlist of candidates. At first base, Paul Goldschmidt lost out to the Chicago Cubs’ Anthony Rizzo, and at second base, Jean Segura was beaten by Joe Panik of the San Francisco Giants. It was the first career award for both Rizzo and Panik. There was an Arizona connection for the center field winner, as that went to former D-back Ender Inciarte, now with the Atlanta Braves.

Here’s the full list of winners in the National League:

  • PITCHER: Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks — 3rd career award
  • CATCHER: Buster Posey, Giants — 1st career
  • FIRST BASE: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs — 1st career
  • SECOND BASE: Joe Panik, Giants — 1st career
  • THIRD BASE: Nolan Arenado, Rockies — 4th career
  • SHORTSTOP: Brandon Crawford, Giants — 2nd career
  • LEFT FIELD: Starling Marte, Pirates — 2nd career
  • CENTER FIELD: Ender Inciarte, Braves — 1st career
  • RIGHT FIELD: Jason Heyward, Cubs — 4th career