clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

1B Paul Goldschmidt, 2B Jean Segura, and P Zack Greinke finalists for NL Gold Glove Awards

The reigning Gold Glove 1B and P are back on the list of finalists for the best defensive player at their position. Paul Goldschmidt is looking for his 3rd and Zack Greinke his 2nd. Also newcomer Jean Segura is looking for his first Gold Glove at 2B.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

For teams not in the World Series, the end of October is also the time where baseball hands out their individual awards. One of the most talked about awards is the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. Last season, the Diamondbacks had two winners with 1B Paul Goldschmidt and CF AJ Pollock, in addition to signing the Gold Glove winner on the mound in Zack Greinke. Two of the three aforementioned players are listed as finalists for the Gold Glove award in the National League, with Goldschmidt at 1B and Greinke on the mound.

Goldschmidt has already won two awards in Arizona, but statistically is showing signs of decline. He's still an above average defender in terms of range and is still very good at saving errors from his teammates. In 1389 2/3 innings, Goldschmidt totaled 4 defensive runs saved and a UZR/150 of 1.1. According to Fangraphs, he's made the fewest out of zone plays (21) for a single season since his first full season in the majors in 2012 after gettng 34 last season. Goldschmidt's competition for the award are the Cubs' Anthony Rizzo and the Padres' Wil Myers. I have a feeling that Rizzo will win the award this year.

Even though the results from the mound were still disappointing, Greinke was a very capable defender off the mound. There were some plays I saw him make that I've seen a Dbacks pitcher make before. Greinke's glove by itself saved him 7 runs defensively. That's pretty good considering he only made 26 starts and pitched only 158 2/3 innings. Greinke's main competition for the award are the Cubs Jake Arrieta and the Cardinals Adam Wainright, a 2013 Gold Glove winner. Greinke leads the group in defensive runs saved and runs saved from good fielding plays, although Arrieta has more DRS in terms of plays made in terms of +/- runs on the mound. I expect Greinke to win the award for a 2nd consecutive season.


I'm an idiot and forgot that 2B Jean Segura was listed as well. Segura in 2016 had 0 defensive runs saved and was 4th amongst qualifying 2B behind Josh Harrison, DJ LeMahieu, and Scooter Gennett in out of zone plays made with 71. LeMahieu and Giants 2B Joe Panik are the other two finalists for the award. I expect LeMahieu to get the award, although Panik in fewer games has the same number of defensive runs saved (3) as LeMahieu.