clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Diamondbacks rotation announced: Anderson, Cahill, Collmenter, De La Rosa, Hellickson

The final names have been inked in to the rotation to start the 2015 season for the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

It's official:

Chase Anderson and Trevor Cahill are now confirmed as the final two spots, though the order of starting, beyond Josh Collmenter on Opening Day, has yet to be established. The way the pre-season starts seem to be lining up, it looks likely that Rubby De La Rosa will take the mound in Game #2, then Jeremy Hellickson for the third contest, Chip Hale saying they may want to split up the relative soft-tossers with the hard-throwing De La Rosa.

This move now means Daniel Hudson and Randall Delgado are both in the Arizona bullpen, which is looking likely to be: Delgado, Hudson, Evan Marshall, Oliver Perez, Addison Reed, Brad Ziegler and one other spot. With Matt Reynolds having been sent to the minors earlier today, the leading candidates for the final slot are Vidal Nuno, Andrew Chafin and Enrique Burgos. With Hudson fairly well-stretched out to work long relief, I'm not sure they'd want Nuno or Chafin too, so could Burgos be a surprise last man?