clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AZ SnakePit Awards: Rookie of the Year nominations open

After a week off for the winter meetings, time to get on with the 2015 'Pitties! This week, it's Rookie of the Year...

Matt Marton-USA TODAY Sports

Here, in alphabetical order, are the 17 rookie-eligible players who appeared for the Arizona Diamondbacks during the 2015 season. We need to filter these down to the five nominees who will make it into the final poll on Thursday. The standard process will apply. You can nominate one (or more) unnominated player by posting a comment with their name in the subjecf line, or you can vote for a previously nominated player by rec-ing an existing comment. The candidates with the most recs by Thursday morning will move on to the final shortlist with a poll to decide the overall winner in this category.

  • Nick Ahmed
  • Silvino Bracho
  • Archie Bradley
  • Socrates Brito
  • Enrique Burgos
  • Andrew Chafin
  • Danny Dorn
  • Brandon Drury
  • Zack Godley
  • Oscar Hernandez
  • Keith Hessler
  • Jake Lamb
  • Peter O'Brien
  • Robbie Ray
  • Jamie Romak
  • A.J. Schugel
  • Yasmany Tomas

These "rookies" run the gamut, from Dorn, who turned 31 in July, all the way down to Hernandez, who made his major-league debut three days after his 22nd birthday. There's also a wide range of contributions, from the 134 appearances by Ahmed down to the five from Schugel. Me, I'm voting for Hessler, who joins an elite club of three other Diamondbacks to possess a 1.000 batting average with the team, alongside David Hernandez, Jose Valverde and Vincente Padilla.