clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Game #147: Diamondbacks vs. Padres

The Diamondbacks will be hoping home field advantage allows them to end their six-game losing streak. And maybe even get Vidal Nuño his first win for us. But let's not get TOO far ahead of ourselves, shall we?

Vidal Nuno practices doing a barrel roll, for whenever he gets his first W
Vidal Nuno practices doing a barrel roll, for whenever he gets his first W
Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports
Eric Stults
RHP, 6-16, 4.55
Vidal Nuno
LHP, 0-5, 3.16
Yangervis Solarte - 3B Ender Inciarte - LF
Cory Spangenberg - LF Chris Owings - 2B
Jedd Gyorko - 2B A.J. Pollock - CF
Rene Rivera - C Mark Trumbo - 1B
Yasmani Grandal - 1B Miguel Montero - C
Rymer Liriano - RF Cody Ross - RF
Cameron Maybin - CF Jake Lamb - 3B
Alexi Amarista - SS Cliff Pennington - SS
Eric Stults - LHP Vidal Nuño - LHP

Combined, the starting pitchers have a record for the whole season of 8-26, so it wouldn't surprise me if neither of them win tonight, and it's decided by the respective bullpens. But Stults still has an outside chance at becoming a 20-game loser, which would be impressive. If the 20-game winner is becoming increasingly rare, especially in the National League - there wasn't a single one last year - the 20-game loser is practically extinct - you have to go all the way back to 1979 to find one, in Phil Niekro, And he didn't even have a losing record, going 21-20. Oh, yeah, with 23 complete games.

No-one in the NL has had more than 18 losses since Bobby Jones for the 2001 Padres, who went 8-19. Right now, Stults and A.J. Burnett are tied - Stults had three less starts than Burnett, so that's more impressive. Of course, equally impressive is Nuño, now closing in on Max Scherzer's franchise record of winless starts at the beginning of a career with the Diamondbacks. This will be #12 for Nuno, and if he doesn't win tonight, will also move him into sole possession of fourth-place for any streak of winless starts by an Arizona pitcher. He'll trail Scherzer, Edgar Gonzalez (14) and Brian Anderson, who went 17 straight between W in 2001-2002.