clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Paul Goldschmidt: 2013 Silver Slugger Award Winner

Another day, another Goldy award.


Paul Goldschmidt is your National League First Base Silver Slugger, as the winners of the award were announced today. That brings Goldy's award total to four so far this offseason (Silver Slugger, Gold Glove, Fielding Bible, Hank Aaron). He also joins a pretty good club of people who have won Gold Gloves and Silver Sluggers in the same season, which include in recent years Torii Hunter, Joe Mauer and Matt Kemp. He also joins Aaron Hill (2012), Daniel Hudson, Justin Upton (2011), Micah Owings (2007) and Luis Gonzalez as Diamondback winners of the Silver Slugger. 

A quick google search tells me that a "Bronze Baserunning" award does not exist, so Goldy cannot complete an Olympic Metal Trifecta this offseason.

Goldschmidt was also announced along with Andrew McCutchen and Yadier Molina as finalists for the National League Most Valuable Player yesterday. And there is still the most prestigious award to be announced, the SBNation Best Player Award, which Goldy is certainly a contender for. (Company man? I don't know what you're talking about.)

Congratulations, again!