clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jose Fernandez NL Rookie of the Year, A.J. Pollock shut out

Jose Fernandez of the Marlins beat out Yasiel Puig in the voting to become National League Rookie of the Year. Diamondbacks rookie A.J. Pollock, sadly, received no votes.

Maybe Jose Fernandez can afford some new socks now.
Maybe Jose Fernandez can afford some new socks now.
Jonathan Ernst
Player, Club 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Jose Fernandez, Marlins 26 4 142
Yasiel Puig, Dodgers 4 25 95
Shelby Miller, Cardinals 1 9 12
Hyun-jin Ryu, Dodgers 10 10
Julio Teheran, Braves 7 7
Jedd Gyorko, Padres 2 2
Nolan Arenado, Rockies 1 1
Evan Gattis, Braves 1 1

I think I am quite surprised by the scope of the victory as anything, with a thumping 26 of 30 voters preferring Fernandez over Puig. I guess BBWAA members don't know an exciting player when they see one... That particularly goes for John Maffei of the U-T San Diego, who was the one player to leave Puig off his ballot entirely, preferring Shelby Miller. Otherwise, the other 29 voters voted the Fernandez-Puig ticket, but there was a broader spectrum of votes for third, with six different rookies being selected.

However, no-one was able to find room on their ballot for the Diamondbacks' candidates, in particular, A.J. Pollock. In case you're interested, the two "Arizona" reps - Jack Magruder and, bizarrely, a certain un-named ESPN pundit who no longer even lives in the state - chose Gyorke and Teheran respectively as their third-place choices, both choosing Fernandez as their top choice, and Puig in second-place. It was a Cuban 1-2, making Fernandez the first Cuban-born player to win a Rookie of the Year title in almost 50 years, since Tony Oliva did so for the American League award in 1964.

The Marlins were running a little behind schedule this season. After previously winning Rookie of the Year in 2003 (Dontrelle Willis - insert "it should have been Brandon Webb" rant here), 2006 (Hanley Ramirez) and 2009 (Chris Coghlan - man, whatever happened to him?), they didn't receive any votes last year, but made up for it this time with Fernandez. Yasiel Puig coming in second means that the Dodgers still haven't had a Rookie of the Year since 1996, when Todd Hollandsworth completed a remarkable run of five straight from Los Angeles, following Hideo Nomo, Raul Mondesi, Mike Piazza and Eric Karros.

Over in the American League, Tampa's Wil Myers took home the honor. It's the Rays third win in six years for this category, Myers following in the footsteps of Evan Longoria (2008) and Jeremy Hellickson (2011).  Say what you like about those Florida teams, they do seem to have a handle on how to develop young players.