clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Paul Goldschmidt named D-backs’ nominee for 2013 Hank Aaron Award.

Major League Baseball announced that Paul Goldschmidt was named the D-backs' nominee for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award. This has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODA

Voting for the award is done by combination of fan voting and an expert panel. Through October 10, fans will have the opportunity to select one AL and one NL winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club, online at and the 30 Club sites. The Hall of Fame panel is led by Hank Aaron, and includes Hall of Famers Roberto Alomar, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount, who will lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League [and hopefully counter the rampant homerism we'll see in the fan voting!] The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

Goldschmidt, 26, hit .302 with 36 doubles, 36 home runs and 125 RBI in 160 games with the D-backs this season. The NL All-Star became the first player in club history to lead or tie for the league lead in home runs and RBI, while also ranking first in slugging percentage (.551), OPS (.952), extra-base hits (75) and total bases (332). I think he probably has a better shot at winning this than the MVP, but the "fan vote" portion does bother me - not clear what percentage of that is in the final decision, or if it's merely "advisory". McCutchen, Votto and Goldschmidt are all pretty close at the top, but if was purely the fans, it would probably go to Carpenter....

The finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are as follows. Got to feel for certain teams on the list, who didn't have a Goldschmidt on their offense this season!

American League

National League

Baltimore Orioles

Chris Davis

Arizona Diamondbacks

Paul Goldschmidt

Boston Red Sox

David Ortiz

Atlanta Braves

Freddie Freeman

Chicago White Sox

Alexei Ramirez

Chicago Cubs

Nate Schierholtz

Cleveland Indians

Jason Kipnis

Cincinnati Reds

Jay Bruce

Detroit Tigers

Miguel Cabrera

Colorado Rockies

Michael Cuddyer

Houston Astros

Jason Castro

Los Angeles Dodgers

Hanley Ramirez

Kansas City Royals

Eric Hosmer

Miami Marlins

Giancarlo Stanton

LA Angels of Anaheim

Mike Trout

Milwaukee Brewers

Carlos Gomez

Minnesota Twins

Joe Mauer

New York Mets

David Wright

New York Yankees

Robinson Cano

Philadelphia Phillies

Domonic Brown

Oakland Athletics

Josh Donaldson

Pittsburgh Pirates

Andrew McCutchen

Seattle Mariners

Kendrys Morales

St. Louis Cardinals

Matt Carpenter

Tampa Bay Rays

Evan Longoria

San Diego Padres

Will Venable

Texas Rangers

Adrian Beltre

San Francisco Giants

Hunter Pence

Toronto Blue Jays

Edwin Encarnacion

Washington Nationals

Jayson Werth

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's home run record, and, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years. "It is a great honor that Major League Baseball recognizes the most outstanding offensive performer in each League with an award in my name," said Hank Aaron. Admittedly, he probably would rather they hadn't honored certain players in his name - the award started just as the steroid era was getting going. Previous winners pretty much form a Who's Who of PED abusers including: Manny Ramirez, Sammy Sosa, Barry Bonds and Alex Rodriguez. Ouch.