clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Diamondbacks among Gold Glove finalists

Patrick Corbin, Paul Goldschmidt and Gerardo Parra were announced today as being among the finalists for the Rawlings Gold Glove awards, given out each year for defensive excellence.

Christian Petersen
  • Pitcher
    Patrick Corbin Arizona Diamondbacks
    Zack Greinke Los Angeles Dodgers
    Adam Wainwright St. Louis Cardinals
  • Catcher
    A.J. Ellis Los Angeles Dodgers
    Russell Martin Pittsburgh Pirates
    Yadier Molina St. Louis Cardinals
  • First base
    Paul Goldschmidt Arizona Diamondbacks
    Adrian Gonzalez Los Angeles Dodgers
    Anthony Rizzo Chicago Cubs
  • Second base
    Darwin Barney Chicago Cubs
    Mark Ellis Los Angeles Dodgers
    Brandon Phillips Cincinnati Reds
  • Third base
    Nolan Arenado Colorado Rockies
    Juan Uribe Los Angeles Dodgers
    David Wright New York Mets
  • Shortstop
    Ian Desmond Washington Nationals
    Andrelton Simmons Atlanta Braves
    Troy Tulowitzki Colorado Rockies
  • Left field
    Carlos Gonzalez Colorado Rockies
    Starling Marte Pittsburgh Pirates
    Eric Young Jr. New York Mets
  • Center field
    Carlos Gomez Milwaukee Brewers
    Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh Pirates
    Denard Span Washington Nationals
  • Right field
    Jay Bruce Cincinnati Reds
    Jason Heyward Atlanta Braves
    Gerardo Parra Arizona Diamondbacks

Winners will be unveiled during a special, one-hour "Baseball Tonight - The 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award Announcement Show" on ESPN2 Tuesday, October 29, 2013, at 5pm Arizona time.

Each manager and up to six (6) coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their League, and cannot vote for players on their own team. For the first time in its 57-year history, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process, as part of its new collaboration with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR). The SABR Defensive Index comprised of approximately 25 percent of the overall selection total, with the managers and coaches' vote continuing to carry the majority.