clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gameday Thread, #21: 4/28 vs. Marlins


Ian Kennedy
RHP, 3-0, 3.86

Anibal Sanchez
RHP, 1-0, 2.79

Kennedy seeks to run his undefeated streak to a dozen starts today, which would tie him for 8th on the franchise record list, level with Daniel Hudson's 12-game run from May 17-July 17 last season. You'd have to go back to 2007-0 to find a better one: Brandon Webb's 14-game series, in which he won all but one appearance. However, leading the list, at 19 and 17 games respectively, might not be the player you think. Today's trivia question: who are #1 and #2 on the D-backs for consecutive starts without a loss? Answer will appear in the comments at some point. As ever, cheaters never prosper...

Line-up and the thoughts of Cap'n Kirk after the jump.

  1. Willie Bloomquist SS
  2. Gerardo Parra CF
  3. Justin Upton RF
  4. Jason Kubel LF
  5. Miguel Montero C
  6. Paul Goldschmidt 1B
  7. Aaron Hill 2B
  8. Ryan Roberts 3B
  9. Ian Kennedy P

Startling to realize last night's game was the first time this season, in 20 games, that Arizona has won a game by more than four runs. They came close in the opener of the Phillies series, until Joe Paterson did an impression of sodium dropped into water. But last night was the first time the D-backs closed the deal. We're still outperforming our Pythag, even though we have a 3-6 record in one-run games. That's probably because we are 1-3 in blowouts, with a run differential there of 10-26.

Here's Kirk Gibson from today's pre-game press conference

Alternative content