clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2012 AZ SnakePit Awards: Nominations, Please

It's time to open the nominations for the 2012 AZ SnakePit annual awards, informally known as the 'Pitties. Who do you think qualifies for the various categories?

Mark J. Rebilas-US PRESSWIRE - Presswire

Below, you'll find a provisional list of suggestions. However, I stress the word "provisional" as there may well be others worthy of consideration. That's especially the case in the Play and Game of the Year categories, as well as the Unsung Here, because there may well have been others that should be nominated, which have slipped my memory, but I am absolutely open to arguments for any category. Remember: if you don't put forward your suggestions now, you lose all right to complain when the official nominations and polling come out in a couple of weeks! And if you are interested, here are the previous winners.

Play of the Year

  • 4/8: Bryan Shaw fans St. Buster to save the sweep vs. SFG
  • 4/28: Willie Bloomquist's no-look flip to second vs. MIA
  • 6/8: Ryan Roberts' walk-off three-run homer vs. OAK
  • 9/9: Adam Eaton doubles the runner off first vs. SDP
  • 10/2: Aaron Hill's walk-off homer vs. COL

Performance of the Year

  • 4/27: Joe Saunders three-hitter vs. MIA
  • 6/18: Aaron Hill's cycle #1 vs. SEA
  • 6/29: Aaron Hill's cycle #2 vs. MIL
  • 7/21: Jason Kubel's three homers vs. HOU
  • 8.22: Wade Miley saves the 'pen vs. MIA

Game of the Year

  • 4/8: Comeback from six down vs. SFG
  • 6/8: Roberts' walk-off seals six-run comeback vs. OAK
  • 6/15: Beating Haren on a Cahill shutout vs. LAA
  • 9/9: D-backs win 1-0 vs. LAD
  • 9/21: Arizona scores 15 vs. COL

Rookie of the Year

  • Patrick Corbin
  • Adam Eaton
  • Wade Miley
  • Bryan Shaw
  • Ryan Wheeler

Unsung Hero

  • Willie Bloomquist
  • David Hernandez
  • John McDonald
  • Gerardo Parra
  • Brad Ziegler

Pitcher of the Year

  • Trevor Cahill
  • David Hernandez
  • Wade Miley
  • J.J. Putz
  • Brad Ziegler


  • Trevor Cahill
  • Paul Goldschmidt
  • Aaron Hill
  • Wade Miley
  • Miguel Montero