clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Diamondbacks' Gerardo Parra Wins First Gold Glove

Gerardo Parra was announced as the winner of the 2011 Gold Glove Award for Left Fielder. It is his first career Gold Glove and well-deserved, as his season was filled with highlight-reel catches. He made only two errors in 1,018 innings in left field, had five double plays (which is a lot, from the outfield) and 12 assists, both the most in his position. He was also the highest-ranked left fielder according to Fangraphs' UZR ratings.

Two Los Angeles Dodgers players won the awards for Center Field, for which Chris Young was nominated, and Right Field, for which Justin Upton was not nominated. Chris Young was named to the 2011 All-Postseason Performers Team, though.

The 2011 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were announced this evening on the first-ever Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show on ESPN2. Three nominees in each position were announced on Monday, October 31st. This is also the first year that the outfield nominees were specifically divided into left, center and right field positions.

Gerardo Parra is the first outfield Gold Glove Award winner for Arizona since Steve Finley won it in 1999 and 2000. Orlado Hudson was the most recent Diamondback to win the award, having been honored in 2006 and 2007 for manning second base.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award has been given out since 1957 and is voted on by MLB managers and coaches. Greg Maddox has won the most career Gold Gloves with 18. Willie Mays and Roberto Clemente each won 12.

Full Award Winners

NL - Yadier Molina, STL
AL - Matt Wieters, BAL

NL - Clayton Kershaw, LAD
AL - Mark Buehrle, CWS

Left Field
NL - Gerardo Parra, ARI
AL - Alex Gordon, KCR

Center Field
NL - Matt Kemp, LAD
AL - Jacoby Ellsbury, BOS

Right Field
NL - Andre Ethier, LAD
AL - Nick Markakis, BAL

First Base
NL - Joey Votto, CIN
AL - Adrian Gonzalez, BOS

Second Base
NL - Brandon Phillips, CIN
AL - Dustin Pedroia, BOS

Third Base
NL - Placido Polanco, PHI
AL - Adrian Beltre, TEX

NL - Troy Tulowitzki, COL
AL - Erick Aybar, LAA

The 18 Gold Glove Winners will now be eligible for the first Rawlings Platinum Glove Award. Fans will vote online for the award now through November 7th, with the award announced November 11th.