25 for 25: Diamondbacks

I am actually a St. Louis Cardinals fan, but over the past few months I've been working on a roster for each franchise in the National League, composed of players over the last 25 years*. The way this works is that I pick one player from each season and I have to fill out an entire roster (2 catchers, 2 infielders at each position, 6 total outfielders, 5 starting pitchers, 4 relievers). I can't take more than one player for each year, I have to take one player each season even in the bad years, and I can't use the same player for multiple positions. If a player played the majority of his games at one position, I can't use that season for another position even if he's played it before. And I used basically minimums of 60 innings or 250 PA's (prorated for strike seasons).

*Because the Diamondbacks have only been in existance since 1998, I picked two players for each season, with 2009 getting three players, otherwise the rules are the same.

The interesting part with this are the decisions that have to be made, whether it is, "Dang there are some really nice outfielder seasons to choose from, who gets left out?", or, "Does this team even have two decent catchers in a 25-year span?", or, "This guy had so many great years - which one do I choose?" Sometimes a great year gets left out, sometimes a fluke, partial season gets tabbed for the team.

I actually posted the entire NL East and NL West on the SB Nation site Viva El Birdos, as well as a fully researched extended version for the Cardinals from 1910 to 1934 and (eventually) a post just like this at all of the other NL sites. You're welcome to pick apart my choices and make suggestions of your own. I'm looking forward to hearing from everybody.

P.S. After completing the whole process and receiving comments last week, I realized that I should have utilized both BP's WARP1 and B-R's WAR numbers instead of just WARP1 along with Win Shares and OPS+/ERA+. (Fangraphs' WAR numbers only go back to 2002, so that would not have helped.) There were a couple players with differences of 2+ wins, so there might be a couple head-scratchers. My apologies.

C – Damian Miller (2000), Chris Snyder (2007)

1B – Chad Tracy (2005), Tony Clark (2005)

2B – Junior Spivey (2002), Orlando Hudson (2006)

3B – Matt Williams (1999), Mark Reynolds (2009)

SS – Jay Bell (1998), Stephen Drew (2008)

OF – Devon White (1998), Steve Finley (1999), Luis Gonzalez (2001), Eric Byrnes (2007), Conor Jackson (2008), Justin Upton (2009)

SP – Brian Anderson (2000), Curt Schilling (2001), Randy Johnson (2004), Brandon Webb (2006), Dan Haren (2009)

RP – Byung-Hyun Kim (2002), Matt Mantei (2003), Oscar Villareal (2003), Mike Koplove (2004)

Notable exceptions: Troy Glaus (2005), Omar Daal (1999), Miguel Batista (2003), Javier Vazquez (2005), Jose Valverde (2007)

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join AZ Snake Pit

You must be a member of AZ Snake Pit to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at AZ Snake Pit. You should read them.

Join AZ Snake Pit

You must be a member of AZ Snake Pit to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at AZ Snake Pit. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.